revelation through Revelation

During my lunch hour, I was trying to get caught up on reading Revelation (I’m behind!!!) and as I re-read about the 144,000 – fear welled up in me.  I asked Chad if he thought it was a literal number of the believers who will be given the mark of the Living God.  When he replied yes, I got chills.  How many people are in earth?  How many claim Christ?  I’m sure that the ratio would be staggering. Maybe I will look into that when I get home. I started thinking that “what if” I think I have a relationship with the Father but He doesn’t count it? What if I’m not good enough?  What if, what if, what if?

Anyhow, Chad refused to let me question that which I know deep down is true; God loves me and I belong to Him alone.

Thank you, Chadwick. I appreciate it.

Thank You, Father, for friends who serve You and for loving me through everything.

One thought on “revelation through Revelation

  1. Thomas says:

    Hi friend! There are certainly varying views on eschatology and I certainly don’t want to call anyone wrong. But I will say that I strongly disagree with the idea that only 144,000 people will go to Heaven. 144,000 is a biblical number. You have to understand the use of numbers in the Bible. 12 tribes with 12,000 people= 144,000, the number of the children of Israel. It is a number representing the chosen people of God. If only 144,000 are saved, then why would Christ have come? He would die for only 144,000 people, who surely were all saved and died thousands of years ago, meaning he would have long ago come back to judge the world.

    Now, if you want to take it literal, then you need to take it 100% literal. When it lists the 144,000 it specifically lists 12,000 from each tribe, meaning that the 144,000 saved would only be those from Jewish backgrounds. This would mean NO gentile would EVER have hope of being saved. Yet, that is in contrast to what Christ said “many shall come from the east and the west, and shall sit down with Abraham, and Isaac, and Jacob, in the kingdom of heaven” Jesus isn’t a liar. Not then, not now, not ever.

    So really, the only way you can look at it is the way the entirety of Revelation should be looked at: with great symbolism.

    But Sara, I do want to thank you for the part of your post outside of eschatology:
    “God loves me and I belong to Him alone.” Remember that NOTHING can pluck you from the hands of Christ.

Leave a Reply

